A rain shower on a Sunday afternoon in January.

Should be enjoyed like this…

I’ve pulled on a gray Hanes hoodie and foresee a hot cup of coffee in my near future. The rain makes me miss home. The easy conversations with my best friends on a slow car drive going nowhere. The smell of a casserole bubbling in the oven on Sunday night. The raindrops that drip from the rooftop outside my childhood bedroom.

Mostly, I miss my best friends. When it rains, the conversation feels smooth and honest when I’m with them. Our moods are mellow and we talk of life and love in the laze of having nowhere to be on a Sunday afternoon. But with one another.

On a rainy day in January.

“Maybe I should just let it be
And maybe it will all come back to me
Sing: O January O”

–  ‘The Decemberists’ – January Hymn.

