A year and half ago I moved to California.

I left everything I knew and it wasn’t easy. Some days are tougher than others but no matter how tough its felt, California has managed to enchant and surprise me constantly.

This past weekend I attended a “beatnik” gathering in Long Beach. This “beatnik” gathering consisted of 20+ people with whom I felt instant kinship. The point of it was to share something that has recently inspired us. It could be music, poetry, something we’d painted or wrote. We were to share/ read/ sing/ show our art or inspiring piece with everyone and after each person shared, everybody snapped their fingers.

I enjoyed a glass of Merlot and felt more like myself than I have in a long, long time. It was a wonderful evening.

This past weekend I also…

Ate taco salad by the pool. Held a soft bunny rabbit. Cuddled with a pretty gray kitty named “Oliver.”  Played around with a pair of wooden glasses made by my sis in law, Laura Louise. And sat on the front porch of a bungalow in Long Beach drinking Sprite from a Mason jar.

I urge you to press play on the song below. It’s one of my favorites. This song carries me through tough days and helps me remember the enchanting moments like “beatnik” gatherings, petting a sweet kitty, and telling tales with friends on the front porch of a bungalow in Long Beach at 11:00 p.m.

And hoping I never grow too old for these things.

I’ve got a few photos from the weekend. They’re quite random, but isn’t everything?

“Standing on a hill in my mountain of dreams,
Telling myself it’s not as hard, hard, hard as it seems…”

– Led Zeppelin “Going to California”

